Mean Old Malachi

I wasn’t going to post anything tonight, but it seems I am being called to. Last week started out rough and this week is not much better. Seems I am being attacked on all sides. I will spare you the details of all this other than to say I am having several problems all at once converge on me and I know from past experience it is an attack from the enemy and his cohorts. I will let the Lord do battle with them as they have no legal grounds to be attacking me, but I do think I know why they are choosing this time to try to wreak havoc. More about that later.   There is a very difficult date just a couple of days ahead, for now I will just say that Dec 22, 2010 was not a very good day nor a good ending to year that presented more challenges than blessings, at least that is from my weak and mostly inaccurate human understanding of God and His ways. One thing I have learned though, the Psalmist said that “God is near the broken-hearted” and that is so true. Jesus did say that”in this world you will have trouble” but He does keep His promise and comfort and guide us through the difficulties , and that He would never leave us nor forsake us. He is in the battle with us, and He is the conquering King. So we do come out victorious, one way or another. Which bring me to the book of Malachi once again- as we come to the second chapter and here Malachi is dealing with the corruption of the Priests, the spiritual leaders of Israel and with what Malachi calls treachery.  First we will look at the corruption of the  spiritual leaders:

1 “And now, O priests, this commandment is for you.
2 If you will not hear,
And if you will not take it to heart,
To give glory to My name,”
Says the LORD of hosts,

“ I will send a curse upon you,
And I will curse your blessings.
Yes, I have cursed them already,
Because you do not take it to heart.

V1- shows this rebuke which started in 1:8 continues on in this chapter.

v2  The behavior of the priests was defiling the name of God.

“ I will send a curse”- The priests were not obeying the Law they were supposed to uphold.  They would therefore, receive the curses. More can be found about the blessings of obedience and the curses of disobedience in Duet 27 and 28.  

3 “ Behold, I will rebuke your descendants
And spread refuse on your faces,
The refuse of your solemn feasts;
And one will take you away with it.

Refuse was the dung in the sacrificed animal that should have been removed when the animal was prepared for sacrifice to the Lord. 

4 Then you shall know that I have sent this commandment to you,
That My covenant with Levi may continue,”
Says the LORD of hosts.

My covenant with Levi – The Levites had the privilege of serving tabernacle. (Duet 33:8-11)

5 “ My covenant was with him, one of life and peace,
And I gave them to him that he might fear Me;
So he feared Me
And was reverent before My name.

v5 The word peace means fullness, completeness, things as the really ought to be.  

  that he might fear Me;- The context here means holding God in reverential awe, responding properly to His wonder, and worshiping Him in spirit and in truth. 

6 The law of truth[a] was in his mouth,
And injustice was not found on his lips.
He walked with Me in peace and equity,
And turned many away from iniquity.

v6- The law of truth- The priests were to represent the people in holy worship before the Living God, and they were to teach and apply God’s law to the people. 

 in peace and equity- This refers to  complete moral virtue in all things before the Lord.

7 “ For the lips of a priest should keep knowledge,
And people should seek the law from his mouth;
For he is the messenger of the LORD of hosts.

v7- This is the only time in OT that priests are called messengers of the Lord. It was common for the prophets to be referred to as such though. 

8 But you have departed from the way;
You have caused many to stumble at the law.
You have corrupted the covenant of Levi,”
Says the LORD of hosts.

v8- The judgment on the departed religious leader would be more strict because of the ripple effect of that one person’s sin.  

9 “ Therefore I also have made you contemptible and base
Before all the people,
Because you have not kept My ways
But have shown partiality in the law.

v9- The priests had the truth but had not kept it or practiced it. When they acted as judges , they showed partiality, making their sin even worse. 

 

Have a blessed and joy filled Christ Mass!! 

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Empty-Cross-Ministries/171930279510531

Check Empty Cross Ministries Facebook Page and click <like> !

 

 

Leave a Reply

