More on the Bible

Remember, that both testaments open with historical books and close with prophetic books? The historical books of the New Tesatment or the four gospels, Matthew, Mark, Luke and John, and the book of Acts.  The only prophetic book in the NT is Revelation, which is also the last book of the entire canon.  The hisorical books of the Old Testament are the Pentutach (Gen, Ex,Lev,Num and Duet.)  then Joshua, Judges,Ruth,1 and 2 Samuel,1 and 2 Kings, 1 and 2 Chronicles, Ezra,Nehemiah,and Esther. And the Old testament closes out with prohetic books, that are divided into the four major books of prophecy which are Isaiah,Jeremiah,Lamentations,Ezkiel and Daniel, are the major prophets,  The minor prophets are Hosea,Joel,Obadiah,Jonah,Micah,Nahum,Habakkuk,Zephaniah,Haggai,Zecharia,and the last book of the OT is Malachi.  The difference between the major and minor prophets is the length of the prophecies. The major prophets are much longer than the minor, which are shorter. That distiction has nothing do with the importance of the prophecies. There are four major prophets but five books of the major prophecies because Jeremiah also wrote Lamentations.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s